My second favorite book is:
written by:
like this book because:
My third favorite book is:
written by:
like this book because:



# LINCOLN

# **Lincoln Readers**

### Information Handout and Instructions

#### About the award

This program encourages teens to read for pleasure and to become lifelong readers. Named after former President Abraham Lincoln, an avid reader and noted author, the Lincoln Award is sponsored by AISLE and administered by the steering committee. Illinois students who read at least 4 titles can vote for their favorite book to win the award. Pick up a reading log at any Peoria Public Library location, print one out online, or log your books online at www. peoriapubliclibrary, beanstack.com. Grades 9th to 12th.

### How to participate

Inside you will find the 2023 Lincoln Award list. You may read as many of the titles on the list as you like at your own reading pace, but you must read at least 4 books in order to vote. Once you have finished a book, check it off your list. Once you've read as many of the books as you plan to read, write your top three favorite titles on your ballot. Be sure to list them in order. The book you write on the number one line will be the book you are voting for to win the 2023 Lincoln Award. Ballots need to be submitted no later than February 10, 2023. You can turn this form in to any Peoria Public Library location once you're finished. Or, you can participate in the challenge at www.peoriapubliclibrary.beanstack.com

## **2023 LINCOLN AWARD LIST**

Check the boxes next to the book titles to mark the books that you have read!

Title	Author
Ace of Spades	Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé
How It All Blew Up	Arvin Ahmadi
Love From A to Z	S.K. Ali
Firekeeper's Daughter	Angeline Boulley
We Are Not Free	Traci Chee
Legendborn	Tracey Deonn
Not So Pure and Simple	Lamar Giles
Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir	Robin Ha
Grown	Tiffany D. Jackson
Toyko Ever After	Emiko Jean
You Should See Me in A Crown	Leah Johnson
Gender Queer	Maia Kobabe
Elatsoe	Darcie Little Badger
Last Night at the Telegraph Club	Malinda Lo
Furia	Yamile Saied Méndez
The Loop	Ben Oliver
Game Changer	Neal Shusterman
Today Tonight Tomorrow	Rachel Lynn Solomon
Cemetery Boys	Aiden Thomas
Check, Please	Ngozi Ukazu



By turning in this ballot you agree that you read or listened to at least 3 of the books on the 2023 Lincoln Award list. Below, please list, in order, your 3 favorite books and write (or have someone write for you) a 2 sentence review of why you enjoyed this book. Once you're finished turn this in at any Peoria Public Library location by February 10, 2023 for your vote to be submitted or submit this ballot to programmingdept@ppl.peoria.lib.il.us. The winner of the 2023 Lincoln Award will be announced in March 2023.

My vote for the 2023 Award is:	
written by:	
I like this book because:	